Saturday, May 30, 2020
Home > Higher Education > SLIIT CODEFEST 2019 Contributes to Nation’s Digital Pool

SLIIT CODEFEST 2019 Contributes to Nation’s Digital Pool

Designed to inspire the next generation of coders and software developers, SLIIT, the nation’s leading degree awarding institute held its much-awaited CODEFEST 2019, the nationwide Software Competition for the 8th consecutive year at the SLIIT Main Auditorium in Malabe recently.
CODEFEST is a nationwide Software Competition organised by SLIIT’s Faculty of Computing geared towards exhibiting software application design and talents of students’ islandwide. Based on the theme ‘Coding for a Better Tomorrow’, this year’s competition aimed to improve participants’ application and development in preparation for careers in coding or as entrepreneurs and expanding their innovationabilities to the limits of their imagination. The annual competition is also an initiative by SLIIT to elevate the entire nation’s ICT knowledge towards its aspiration of being the knowledge hub in Asia.
This year’s SLIIT CODEFEST 2019 grand finale was also held in parallel with the Institute’s 20th anniversary celebrations falling this month.
The SLIIT CODEFEST 2019 Tertiary category innovative competitions included the SL EXSTO Awards, Overnight Hackathon, Overnight Designathon, Capture the Flag, AI Innovator, Datathon, Netcom and Short Film Competition. The School category competitions included the Coding Contest Senior, Coding Contest Junior and ICT Quiz competitions.

This year’s event demonstrated a growing interest in coding and the challenge to innovate. 18 Universities with over 950 undergraduates from both state and non-state universities in addition to 200 schools, over 1000 school students participated.
Prof. Lalith Gamage, Vice Chancellor, SLIIT said, “This year’s SLIIT CODEFEST 2019 is more than just a competition. We believe there are many young bright students and undergraduates who have so much to offer, but are not always able have a platform to showcase their abilities. Through our yearly competition, we are able to offer skilled developers and a fresh talent pool with opportunities in the business world.”
This year’s competition was held under two main categories: University and Student. An internal competition for SLIIT students only was also held in the form of a mini-hackaton
The winners:
Internal Competition for SLIIT students only: Mini Hackaton – Winner – Lone Wolves, 1st Runner-Up- Algorithm Unlock and 2nd Runner-Up Cheetahs
School Category:
ICT Quiz – Winner – Mahinda College, Galle, 1st Runner- Up – D.S. Senanayaka College, Colombo and 2nd Runner- Up – Girls High School, Kandy.
Coding Contest (Junior) – Winner – L.M. Yonal Jayasinghe, Thurstan College, 1st Runner- Up, B.A. Sanciamini Akarshana, P.D. Binudi Methsala. Seneesa Dilmani Lamahewa, K.P. Kithmi Anujana De Silva, Sirimavo Bandaranaike Vidyalaya and 2nd Runner-Up – S.J.J. Tharusha Nimnath, T.D. Iresha Vihanga Rathnathilaka. Thisar Kalpana Uluwaththa, Sri Rahula College, Anuradhapura.
Coding Contest (Senior) – Winner – Bandarawela Central College, 1st Runner-Up – Gamini Dissanayake National School and 2nd Runner-Up – St. Thomas College, Bandarawela.
University Category:
Netcom – Winner – Team NetNG from NIBM, 1st Runner- Up – Team Titans from SLIIT and 2nd Runner- Up – Team X-Force from NIBM.
Capture the Flag – Winner – Crylon Squad, SLIIT, 1st Runner-Up – CryptoAuth, SLIIT and 2nd Runner- Up – 7R4C3R, UCSC.
Short Film Competition – Winner –Red Crabs Team,1stRunner- Up – Team -Furious Five and2nd Runner- Up – Team -Dream N Act Productions.
Overnight Hackathon – Winner – Sag4x, University of Colombo School of Computing, 1st Runner-Up, Excecption, SLIIT and 2nd Runner-Up – Esthos Squad, SLIIT.
Overnight Designathon 2019 – Winner – Firebolt, University of Sri Jayawardenapura, 1st Runner-Up – Team Huex, University of Moratuwa and 2nd Runner-Up – BitLords, SLIIT
Al Innovator – Winner – Pubudu, SLIIT, 1st Runner-Up – Smart Bin, University of Colombo and 2nd Runner- Up – MOOC , SLIIT.
Datathon – Winner – XGCoder, University of Moratuwa, 1st Runner-Up – AlphaZero, University of Jayawardenapura and 2nd Runner-Up – Team Python, University of Moratuwa
SL EXSTO Awards – Winner – CarSec Pro, SLIIT, 1st Runner-Up – Zilla, SLIIT and 2nd Runner-Up – ABRUTECH, University of Moratuwa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *